The 11th Hour

Dear my beloved blog readers.

Today in English class we watched a movie called «The 11th hour». At the same time we were supposed to write notes. We divided the movie in to three parts: The first part wThe-11th-Houre wrote notes by hand, the second part we wrote notes on our computer and the third part we wrote notes in a shared Google document that the whole class wrote on. In this blog post I am therefore writing a short summary of the movie and my opinion on the method I liked best to take notes.

“The 11th  hour” is a documentary about the consequences of the humans abuse of the nature. The movie firmly describes global warming and the destruction that comes with it through public peoples like Leonardo Dicaprio and Stephen Hawking.

The movie got strong pictures of polluting and describes global warming in such a serious and touching way that it really sticks to your brain and make you want to change the world to a greener place. The movie describes how the corporates and economy runs our society instead of the nature that our existence actually depends global_warming_by_teabingon. At some point in the movie a scientist describes that the environmental cleanup that the world’s forests do had cost humans 38 trillion dollars to clean up every year with the technology that we have today.

This movie is really touching and gave me a lesson about polluting that will stick to my mind for a long time and I recommend you all to watch it, especially if you are interested in the environment.

Now to the tree techniques to take notes…

  1. The technique I liked the best was handwriting, I think that this is the best technique because I were able to keep the focus on the movie a lot better taking hand written notes then taking notes on a big glowing screen. I was also able to take the notes faster than on the computer. The only minus is that my handwriting is so bad that I only understood one third of the words I had written in a totally dark room.Students writing essay
  2. The technique I liked the second best was taking notes on the computer. The downsides with this technique are that you have a glowing screen in your face while you are taking notes and that the technique is slower than handwriting.
  3. The reason that I have put the note taking on Google docs last is that it got all the downsides that computer note taking got and a Google doc is very messy when 30 students are taking notes on it at the same time.
One thought on “The 11th Hour

  1. interesting post about the movie and taking notes in class. I like to take notes on paper. Even if you prefer the latter it might not work too well if you can only read 1/3 of your notes! I think most students found the Google doc confusing and although there were never 30 there at the same time it was still confusing.

Leave a Reply

